Nine Minnesota communities earn nation’s first “EV-Ready” designation

Charging Smart

A group of Minnesota local governments became the first communities to achieve Charging Smart designation, a public recognition of their status as electric vehicle-friendly communities. Charging Smart is a national program funded by the U.S. Department of Energy that works to accelerate the deployment of electric vehicles (EVs) across the country.

Nine local governments from across Minnesota earned Bronze and Silver designations in recognition of their work to accelerate the equitable expansion of EVs and EV charging infrastructure. 

“We are so proud that Minnesota cities are the first in the nation to earn this much-deserved recognition. We worked closely with the Interstate Renewable Energy Council (IREC) to develop Charging Smart, and designation through the program means a community has taken critically important steps to accelerate EV readiness,” said Lola Schoenrich, Vice President, Communities at the Great Plains Institute (GPI).

Charging Smart offers free technical assistance to help municipalities set and achieve policies that align with nationally recognized best practices to advance EV adoption. By helping local governments streamline and improve their policies, Charging Smart aims to reduce EV charger costs and increase the number of EVs in the community. In addition, the program emphasizes the importance of equity, leading to concrete benefits in EV access for all jurisdiction residents. Learn more and join the program at ChargingSmart.org. 

The program launched earlier this year in a pilot phase. It currently operates in Colorado, Minnesota, Michigan, Ohio, and Virginia, along with the regions of North Texas, Northern Illinois, and Southern California. Charging Smart plans to expand the program’s geographic reach beginning this summer. 

Charging Smart is led by Interstate Renewable Energy Council (IREC), with GPI serving as lead partner on the project. GPI worked closely with the seven Minnesota communities to earn designation. 

Congratulations to Minnesota Charging Smart participating communities: Eden Prairie, Falcon Heights, Faribault, Hopkins, Inver Grove Heights, La Crescent, Oakdale, Roseville, and St. James.

Get MN clean energy news & opportunities

We encourage reuse and republishing of this article. All Clean Energy Resource Teams news posts are made available under the Creative Commons Attribution license, meaning you can share and adapt the work as long as you give us credit. We'd also love it if you link back to the original piece. Have questions or want to chat? Drop us a line.